Football

Head Coach

McKay Young: mcyoung@lcsd2.org

Assistant Coaches
Kelly Merritt: kellym@silverstar.com
Winston Patterson: wpatterson@lcsd2.org
Don McAdams:domcadams@lcsd2.org
Ballard Johnson: bjohnson@lcsd2.org
Tyrel Clove: tyclove@lcsd2.org
Paul Kabonic: pakabonic@lcsd2.org
Jason Cazier: jcazier@lcsd2.org
Tyson Balls: tyballs@lcsd2.org
Kirk Hoopes: khoopes@lcsd2.org
Spencer Sloan: spsloan@lcsd2.org
Bryan Nichols: bryannichols37@gmail.com

State Championships

1961               1992

1965              1993 

1966               1995

1967               1996

1972               2015     

1980               2016

1982               2018

 

Summer Camps

Summer Workouts (Starting June 4th)

     Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday from 8:00-10:00pm

     Tuesday          

          Non B-Ballers will lift from 8-9pm

          B-Ballers will lift from 9-10pm (After Open Gym)

Wednesday

          We are on the field from 8-9:45pm

Thursday

          Non Wrestlers will lift from 8-9pm

          Wrestlers will lift from 9-10 (After Open Mat)

These are optional-you do not need to participate to be a part of the team in the fall

 

 

7 on 7 Linemen Challenges

     June 5th: West Side (7 on 7 only-Linemen will still have a workout here in SV)

     June 14th and 15th: Heber City, UT

          The Basketballers will be dropped off here on their way home from UVU

          The Wrestlers will be dropped off here on their way home from Salina Camp

Summer Camp:  July 29-August 2

     If you are serious about football, then this needs to be a summer priority.  We will install most of our offensive and defensive schemes this week and get a good head start into our season.  

     Players will check in at 8AM on Monday and Check out on Friday Afternoon after our scrimmage.

     Players will not have their cell phones or car keys all week. 

Mandatory Official Start Date

     The Mandatory/Official start date for football is August 19th.  We will be doing two practices per day for most of the first week (morning and night).  We will communicate that schedule as we get closer. 

Go Braves!!

Coach Young

History

Star Valley High School Football has a long and storied tradition. The first team was organized in 1928 by Coach C. Newell Peterson who coached through the 1934 season and compiled an overall record of 24-18-1. His wins total (24) served as the benchmark for Star Valley until Lew Monsen's tenure in the 1960's.

Referred to as the "Star Valley Athletic Club" in the early days, writers used slang unofficial nicknames such as "Aftoners", "Cougars" and of course "Cheesemakers", the last of which eventually became the school's official mascot and nickname in from 1937 until November of 1948. At that time the Student Body Officers, citing the cost of putting "Cheesemakers" on every uniform plus the student agreement that it was not a proper nickname, changed the school's mascot to "Braves" which it has been ever since.

The Star Valley Braves have won 12 football state championships, the last of which came in 1996. Since then the program has advanced to six state championship title games ('97, '98, '01, '02, '05 & '12) but lost each time by six points or less.

Star Valley's current head coach, Chris Howell, is in his 7th season and has compiled a 30-29 record to this point. The Braves are 20-10 in the past three seasons.

Above is one of several featured images Star Valley High School would like to share with the current generation of fans and students. This is the football layout of the 1950 Braves football team coached by Wallace Nalder & Clint Nelson as it appeared in the 1951 SVHS yearbook.

Calendar